The Lord Your Helper pt2- Ayo Oritsejafor

“And David spake unto the LORD the words of this song in the day that the LORD had delivered him out of the hand of all his enemies…” (2 Samuel 22:1

The book of 2 Samuel chapter 21 enunciates how David confronted the giants to get his victory, David was anointed king of Israel but he didn’t just become a king, he experienced challenges, obstacles and giants. This experiences made him king of Israel, he had to confront the obstacle to the fulfillment of God’s promise over his life in order for him to get the victory. He didn’t confront the giant on his own the Bible says at a time David’s strength waxed faint and he needed help, God raised mighty men to help him obtain his victory. The battle of life cannot be defeated alone without the help of God, this very understanding that you need the help of God is very crucial in obtaining your victory in life.
David had this understanding and he never failed to call on God for help when he needed it, he knew that the Lord is his rock, fortress and deliverer. The Bible in Psalm 116 said David recognized God as “The God of my rock; in him will I trust: he is my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my high tower…” David went further to say in verse 4 “When the waves of death compassed me, the floods of ungodly men made me afraid; The sorrows of hell compassed me about; the snares of death prevented me; then called I upon the name of the LORD; O LORD, I beseech thee, deliver my soul.”
The battles of life shouldn’t weigh you down because God is in existence. You see when they sit down to plan against you; they forget that there is God. There are many of you who have been betrayed and defeated, many of you reading this devotional, people have turned against you, the Bible says that the Lord is your helper and you should not be discouraged.
Prayer/Confession: Father in the name of Jesus, every tongue that rises up against me I condemn. For God says this is the heritage of the children of God for their righteousness is mine. My God is alive!  Any sickness, obstacles, setback and war that they plan against me I scatter it because the Lord is my strength. Any trap that they set for me, I set myself free in the name of Jesus, loose me and let me go.

Further Reading2 Samuel 22:49; Psalm 18:1
Words of WisdomThe existence of God defeats every battles of life.

Leave a Reply

